Go Back   Tactical Gamer > General Forums > Hardware & Software Discussion


Hardware & Software Discussion Hardware and Software discussion and troubleshooting. Tweakers and Overclockers welcome!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-15-2005, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South east england
Posts: 8,839
Suspect websites?

I've just reinstalled win2k, and I keep getting a windows messenger service box appear. It claims something about my OS being "open to a extreme risk, security hole". Tha, t comma makes me suspicious. It then rambles on about identity theft, and blames the problem on my registry being corrupted.

The message says I should go to www.msregrepair.com to resolve this.

Has anyone fallen foul of this? Does anyone know it to be a genuine site to resolve an issue?

I've had differently worded messages saying I should go to other sites including www.uric.net

My assumption is that the windows messenger service is compromised due to crap coding by the drones at M$, and that this is a lame attempt to get me to go to a site that will further compromise my PC.

Anyone experienced any of this?

Root
__________________
BFCL TF2 league admin
Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 05:23 PM   #2 (permalink)


 
kormendi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Fairfax, Virginia
Age: 27
Posts: 2,173
Re: Suspect websites?

simple solution, disable the windows messenger service.

See http://www.itc.virginia.edu/desktop/docs/messagepopup/ for details.
__________________




Team Fortress 2 Admin | NS Admin
PM me if you have any questions/concerns regarding the server.


kormendi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Old 09-15-2005, 05:24 PM   #3 (permalink)

 
Wyzcrak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 14,148
Re: Suspect websites?

No reputable site advertises using Windows Messenging.

Google yourself into disabling that crap in your OS.
__________________
Steam Community? Add me. | Join #tacticalgamer | Search Results Legend | New Posts Forum Filter | Postbox Toggle | Live Thread Review | One Line Results | Free Remote, Encrypted Backup

Darkilla: In short, NS is pretty much really fast chess. With guns. Apophis: I haven't seen anyone say that SM's are better than non-SMs. Nordbomber: This is THE first server I've seen where either side can comeback from out of seemingly nowhere with the right teamwork. en4rcment: I have NEVER experienced the type of gameplay that I have found here. Nightly I am amazed at the personalities and gaming talent. Root: Welcome to TG. Feel free to punctuate your sentences correctly. Monkerz: Its gonna take all my skills to beat those boys off in the future.
Wyzcrak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 05:53 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,494
Re: Suspect websites?

Your firewall allows those through? You are running some sort of firewall, right?

The messenger service is working as it's supposed to and people abuse it..
perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2005, 07:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
Root's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: South east england
Posts: 8,839
Re: Suspect websites?

Thanks guys. I'm not a fan of xp or 2000 (or windoze at all for that matter). I'd forgotten how to disable messenger in 2k. All done now. Thanks for the assist.

Root
__________________
BFCL TF2 league admin
Root is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't access common websites Requious Hardware & Software Discussion 2 04-22-2006 11:12 PM
I mentioned TG on another website's forums and got a hostile reponse! fencer55 General Discussion 20 12-08-2005 11:09 AM
Bypassing compulsory registration at websites CingularDuality General Discussion 2 09-10-2004 07:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
©2004-2008 - Tactical Gamer - All Rights Reserved