Welcome to Tactical Gamer

User Tag List

Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    penandpencilman's Avatar

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    The world
    Posts
    372
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    Requesting overall review of my PL'ing during the entire Indar alert this afternoon. I know these areas below I can work on and am wondering what the members in the platoon noticed:

    1. Giving warning before kicking

    2. Better squad coordination

    3. Calling better retreats in armor

    “Big Brother is Watching You.”
    ― George Orwell, "1984"

  2.  
  3. #2
    Achievements:
    Recommendation Second Class1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second Class

    BolivianRAMPAGE's Avatar

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    385
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    I believe he only thing that shouldn't be on that list is giving better fall back orders. You don't know what the enemy is planning, so fallback orders can always fall apart due to different situations. Other than that, I think you are a great leader! Keep at it.
    Questions about Ribbons? Nominate those who deserve it!
    "Remember, no survivors" -Myself and probably what explains my methods the most

  4.  
  5. #3
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience PointsTagger Second ClassRecommendation Second ClassSocial

    ghostshooter101's Avatar

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Washington DC
    Age
    22
    Posts
    386
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    For the time I was there you did a really good job leading the armor squad. Calling retreats or just pulling back can sometimes save the squad from being wiped, its something I do a lot. Also staying in one location for a long period allows the enemy time to engage you with AV weapons and armor. The longer you stay stationary the more your sundies are exposed and easily targeted. I was watching some of the video footage and you did a great job calling out targets and moving the squad around.

  6.  

  7. #4
    Achievements:
    SocialRecommendation First ClassVeteranTagger Second Class5000 Experience Points

    MrJengles's Avatar

    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Hertfordshire, England, UK
    Age
    23
    Posts
    519
    Mentioned
    7 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    I wasn't there but I'm sure you did a great job Pen.

    Still, I'll say this for what it's worth (if only so I can use it in other threads, if there's ever a good opportunity):

    As PL it can be very hard to see what the situation is for various squads, but this is solved through two-way communication with SLs. As long as you let your SLs in on your intentions through clear and detailed orders then the onus is on them to execute. Likewise, remind them to tell you any significant changes about the situation.

    If your squads have assets, it may be worth reminding them to keep their guys alive and feel free to move to safety / retreat as far as neccessary without asking, but to update the PL as soon as possible. Alternatively, your infantry may be in a sticky situation and you want to risk your armor, so let your SLs know that and tell them they're to fight to the bitter end if need be.

    This requires a little forethought and explanation, but allows SLs to react how you would have liked as fast as possible and with as little comms traffic (even delayed), which are both important mid-combat.

    The infamous "Move to waypoint" can be bettered in most circumstances (although, if giving multiple waypoints, you should only have to add detail to the first, the rest are all a continuation of the same order).



    |TG-Irr| MrJengles - You know you want to say it out loud.

  8.  
  9. #5
    Achievements:
    1 year registered1000 Experience Points


    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    163
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    Quote Originally Posted by penandpencilman View Post

    2. Better squad coordination

    3. Calling better retreats in armor
    I wasn't there either but these sound like very SL related jobs. I would try to avoid exhausting yourself too much by flipping between SL and PL jobs.
    Admittedly there are a few things a PL can do in order to loosen squad cohesion (constant redeploys/lack of squad orders)

  10.  
  11. #6
    Achievements:
    SocialYour first GroupRecommendation Second ClassVeteranCreated Album pictures

    Mindkill's Avatar

    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Michigan - Defending my objective
    Age
    43
    Posts
    3,138
    Blog Entries
    4
    Mentioned
    6 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Re: Performance review; 1/11/2014 Indar Alert

    I was there for a good portion of your PL'ing, Penny, and I think you did a good job.

    I believe I was the one that called you out on giving warning before kicking a member. It's not a serious issue, just something to keep in mind when dealing with blueberries. Give them a chance to figure out that in a TG squad, orders need to be followed and we may end up with a new recruit.

    Others have spoken to items 2 and 3, and I agree with their thoughts.. so I'll skip those.

  12.  

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Back to top