Go Back   Tactical Gamer > Mass Multiplayer > World of Warcraft > World of Warcraft - General Discussion

World of Warcraft - General Discussion General Discussion for World of Warcraft

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2008, 09:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
vee
 
vee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 75
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Trojan on thottbot, wowhead, and Allakhazam

Here is the link: http://boards.worldofraids.com/topic-11536-1.html

Cut from post:

The matter is currently under investigation and will hopefully be resolved soon, however i suggest you take the obvious precautions to protect yourself.
Firefox or a modified hosts file is your best bet at protecting yourself for now.


Firefox : http://www.getfirefox.com/
Noscript : http://noscript.net/getit

Source:
* http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/...ular-sites.html
* http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/02/trojans-again.html
* http://rrvs.blogspot.com/2008/03/trojans-oh-boy.html

Quote:
Malgayne said...

This is Malgayne from Wowhead. I know this is totally inexcusable. If I had my way we'd have shut down all ads on the site already, but unfortunately I don't handle the advertising directly.

I can tell you with assurance that this has nothing to do with Affinity Media. Our Director of Ad Ops has been staying up until all hours of the night desperately trying to find which of our ad networks is causing the problem, and has been for days. But i've seen this exact same redirect on hotmail.com lately.

These ads come in through banners that appear to be totally innocuous, unfortunately. Even the ad network that's showing the banner doesn't know it. And Right Media doesn't narrow it down as much as we'd like, since Right Media is an exchange platform that all of our ad networks use at one point or another--nearly every ad network in the business does. =/



The banner spoken of, originates from "ad.yieldmanager.com", and will produce a redirect to "xpantivirus.com".
The exact source and origin is a little more complicated than that however.
Quote:
Wowhead said...

I've been tearing my hair out trying to find this ad and get it pulled. The trouble is that the redirect code is hidden in a banner ad that, unless loaded in an actual webpage, looks completely innocuous. Not even our ad serving providers know which banner it's located in--if they did, it would be blocked by them on their end, they don't allow this kind of thing either. I promise we're trying. If we can't track this ad down soon we may have to pull all advertisement from the site entirely.


Hopefully the matter will be resolved soon.
Until then, consider yourself warned.
__________________
Delectable - 70 Druid
Nymphai - 70 Rogue
Meepmeep - 70 Warlock
vee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 02:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
beep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 3,421
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Re: Trojan on thottbot, wowhead, and Allakhazam

General suggestion from this:

1. Use Firefox WITH NoScript Addon
__________________
Beep


Those people who think they know everything are a great annoyance to those of us who do. - (Isaac Asimov)
beep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 11:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
 
JAMerica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 531
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Re: Trojan on thottbot, wowhead, and Allakhazam

Good find, thanks for the info.
JAMerica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2008, 05:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: California
Posts: 12
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Re: Trojan on thottbot, wowhead, and Allakhazam

Another reason to use WAU, no?
__________________

xylotism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2008, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
 
ScratchMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: San Pablo, California
Age: 49
Posts: 6,701
Tournaments Joined: 0
Tournaments Won: 0
Re: Trojan on thottbot, wowhead, and Allakhazam

http://matureasskickers.net/wbb2/thr...threadid=16910

If you run your own DNS you can also black hole the two offending ad suppliers (and any other sites you don't want people on your LAN visiting):

http://malwaredomains.com/?page_id=6
__________________
snooggums' density principal: "The more dense a population, the more dense a population."

Iliana: "You're a great friend but if we're ever chased by zombies I'm tripping you."
ScratchMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




» Log in
User Name:

Password:

Not a member yet?
Register Now!
» Advertisement



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.2.0
©2004-2008 - Tactical Gamer - All Rights Reserved