Lerking - an endorsement

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lerking - an endorsement

Since the days of NS1, the lerk has seemed to be the black sheep of the Kharaa family. In my experience, it's the least frequently played lifeform. I created this thread to discuss what a good lerk can do, why they're important to just about any game, and propose theories as to why they're often overlooked and underutilized.

Going back to NS1, I suspect one reason that lerk wasn't played as often was that lerk movement was a bit...off. I certainly don't remember spending much time strafe-hovering as a lerk in NS1. The lifeform seemed more suited to perching and spiking and sporing marines bases from a distance. I certainly avoided the thick of battle if I could help it. However, the lerk movement in NS2 is fantastic. Having not played NS in years, picking up NS2 and playing a lerk for the first time seemed like slipping into an old glove.

I'm still learning and re-learning how to play an effective lerk, and what I've found is that the lerk does best harassing and supporting from the edges of a battle. They're also excellent for defense of hives or critical junctions. No other lifeform has the ranged deterrence of a lerk or two strafing at the end of a hallway, filling it with spiky death while nimbly dancing behind corners when needed. Having a lifeform that can cause continuous ranged damage while others go in for melee damage is highly effective in larger engagements, too. They're a natural counter to jetpackers because of their spikes and their flight capabilities.