TGNS Recording Helper

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• TGNS Recording Helper

I please need early testers for a Windows utility program I've written that automates the starting and stopping of your recording and the beginning and end boundaries of games.

Latest version: TGNS.exe

It's rough yet (I'm a novice at Windows app development), but it works (for me?) so far. It takes a runtime dependency on .NET Framework. Basically, you launch the exe and teach the (ugly :() form about the hotkeys you use to start and stop recording. You then teach the form about the output location of your recorded movies. Lastly, you teach the form about the file extension your recorded filenames end with. You then leave it running while you play on TGNS, and it automatically simulates your start and stop hotkeys for your recording software, and it renames your output file so the filename includes information about your player name, the map, the date, and the build number after the game is over.

I'd love to hear what happens when folks try to use this. It doesn't support hotkey combinations yet -- just single keys. And specifying those keys is cryptic as hell in the UI so far, but it's working for me and I'm curious to get early feedback about others' experience. The idea is that you launch your recording software and this executable when you start your gaming session, and it does everything else for you automatically while you play.

The "Keys Help" link in the form takes you to a page that might be helpful as you try to teach the form about your recording software hotkeys. I tried to do freeform character input for specifying the hotkeys but, long story short, I've failed there so far.
    Last edited by Wyzcrak; 06-27-2016, 09:22 AM.
    Steam Community? Add me. | Free Remote, Encrypted Backup