something is wrong with my ns

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• something is wrong with my ns

whenever i connect to the tg server, it gets to precaching resources. then it just crashes to the desktop with no warnings or error messages, just crashes, it happens in other servers besides tg, but i was wondering if either anyone else has had this problem or if anyone could help me out here, its very irritating.

Re: something is wrong with my ns

Hey Ryan, I'm no expert, but if it dies at "precaching resources", I believe this is an indicator that something is wrong on the client side as it loads the map and model data.

You mentioned that this only occurs on some servers and I'm thinking it may be that the map or model data pertaining to one particular map is corrupted, which is causing the crash. This is just a guess, mind you. Anyway, if this is the case, then you should be able to go through each of the maps on your machine, creating local servers running them, in order to determine which one is causing the crash, then reinstalling that one. Alternatively, you could just try uninstalling and reinstalling ns and see if that fixes it.
    Cool! Personalized plates! Barclay, Barry, Bert, Bort...come on...Bort?

Comment

cl_allowdownload 1 is the command to DL everything you need to play on a server (maps, sounds, sprites.) If its set to 1 and you still crash try reinstalling ns.

Comment

Ok, unless I'm entirely mistaken, then the problem is not in your NS. The TGNS server is designed to send people to the HLTV server, under certain circumstances.

Occasionally, as has been the case a few times in the last couple weeks, the HLTV server has had problems, causing my HL.EXE to crash (during the loading phase, just as you described), and it sounds like I'm not the only one.

Wyz is aware of this problem, and says all that needs to happen is a HLTV reset/reboot. He also said that he was working on automating that process, so as to reduce this issue.