Smurfing

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Smurfing

Hey guys. I've been playing on the server for a couple of months now and I've noticed a lot of people smurfing (using a name other than the one they are known by). I personaly think this goes against the premise that TG is a community. I want TGNS to be a place where friendships and community are created. And changing your name when you join the server stands directly counter to this goal. I personaly think there should be some sort of pollicy against it. But those are just my thoughts. What do you guys think?

Re: Smurfing

First and foremost, it needs to be laid out that changing names in a way that leaves the average player (armed with no information other than your playername) with no doubt as to who I am is NOT smurfing, and breaking even THAT guideline once in a blue moon isn't relevant to the conversation you've started.

smurfing: changing your playername to lessen others' ability to determine your identity

Name changes that do not lead to identity confusion are harmless. Name changes which cause identity confusion are harmful. If I only do it for a few moments, while folks have fun with their names (e.g. everyone taking a moment to use ones and ells in various places to *all* be named "soulflame" just to get his goat) ... ok... haha... no big deal, as long as it's brief.

But if it becomes a pattern of behavior, the harm is potent. When I change my playername, the burden lies on *me*, not my fellow players, to preserve *my* identity in the eyes of my fellow players. It is *my* job to make sure my fellow regulars know who *I* am when I join the game.

Originally posted by givebeesachance