No announcement yet.

comm tactic with 3 vs 3

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• comm tactic with 3 vs 3

Hi, my name is Tim and I'm a noob commander.

I jumped in a pub server and tried comm for a 3 on 3. Not sure about what map it was. I dropper armory, ip and sent them to the first RT. RT was setup and I brought them back to setup arms lab. I sent them to setup the 2nd RT when the first started getting attacked. From there is was down hill until we were OCed at each RT and hallway and well "gg".

How do I learn to comm?
    How do you comm a small team?

Re: comm tactic with 3 vs 3

Hi, Tim! :)

"How do I learn to command?"

That's several unique questions disguised together as one question.

"How do I learn to be a leader?"

"How do I learn strategy?"

"(How) do I micro-manage my marines' tactics?"

"How do I manage an economy and income?"

One answer, which applies to all of these questions, is "practice." Another is "observation." Observe other commanders in action ( come to our HLTV Session tomorrow night! :) ). Take notes. Decide what you agree with, and what you don't. Then apply what you've learned to your own time in the chair. If you practice on this server, let folks know you're new, as, if it's during prime time, you're likely to get your ass handed to you a few times by the aliens. But don't write yourself off the page, as I've seen new commanders, with competant marines, win games against very intimidating alien rosters.

If I had to focus on one aspect of commanding, when getting you up to speed, it would be leadership. Anyone can learn strategy. Anyone can learn tactics. Most can develop the sense of timing and opportunity that commanding involves.