A different kind of commander...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A different kind of commander...

I've had am idea floating around in my head since a little after I started playing NS, and it goes more or less like this: how effective would a team be if the Commander was not the only one in charge? Why is it a regular marine can't be the deciding on the teams strategies and goals?

Before going into why I think this might be an effective team (and a few reasons why it wouldn't be) let me explain how I see this other kind of marine team:

When the round starts, you split the team into two commands. The first is under the control of the Commander, and their goal is to assist the Commander in 3 things- Gathering resources, advancing marine tech, defending the marine held areas. The second command would be under the command of one of the marines, who would be the recognized leader. This groups first goal is to take the fight to the kharaa. Their second goal is to capture hives. Lastly, they would serve as an emergency reserve for defending Marine Start (or the equivalent).

During gameplay it would go like this:
    (start of round)
    group 1- a marine or two stick around to build base. The rest of group 1 go build nodes.
    group 2- moving in either a single large group, or split into 2 smaller groups this group goes to wherever the other team is likely to be, and then does whatever it can to hurt them early on.

(mid game)
    group 1- continues to build base as needed, defends any captured hives, defends res nodes, rebuilds nodes that are destroyed, defends MS (or the equivalent). Possibly a portion plays a res destroying role, if not needed for defense.
    Group 2- moves as a single large group (or in a larger game in groups of about 4) with a mix of weapons (lmgs/shotguns or hmgs/shotguns/1gl) , with first priority on killing enemy nodes, then on capturing hives, lastly on killing high level lifeforms.

(late game)