Backwards Compatibility?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Backwards Compatibility?

Has Sony finally given up on putting any kind of backwards compatibility with the PS3?

I've been toying around with getting a next-gen console for a while now, even though i don't have an HDTV or anything yet. Now, I've been working at an electronics warehouse/distributor for a few years now, and I've noticed something odd: The new 80gb PS3s that we're shipping out now have the same tabs next to the capacity that the 40s did, RE:
    This model of the PLAYSTATION 3 system is designed to play PLAYSTATIONŽ3 format software and has limited backward compatibility. This system is not compatible with, and will not play, PlayStation 2 format software.

Formerly, the 80GB was compatible with PS2 and PSX games, as was the Motorstorm edition, and the old 60GB with the hardware.

Looking at Sony's website, it looks like all new PS3s are incompatible with any ps2 games, and they've removed the memory card slots as well.

While I currently have a PS2, that system has been fraught with hardware problems (Personally, i've had to re-buy 3 PS2s because of laser alignment hardware wearing out, Gabe from Penny-Arcade has bought at least 5) and it would be impractical for me to continue using it as a backup incase it got destroyed again, which is why I would have wanted the ability to play my entire library of games on the PS3.

Anyone know of any place that sells the old models from last year or 2006 still?

<04:11:24> *** You are now talking in channel: "TFP - Task Force Proteus"
    <04:16:25> "|TG-XV| Tralic": this channel is so gay
    DICE needs to make a comical boxing glove attached to a spring punch the player in the face 40% of the time they get into a helicopter or jet.

Re: Backwards Compatibility?