Anyone into hobby game making?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone into hobby game making?

When I was in college I used to run a student organization for programming video games. It's a ton of fun. My girlfriend and I are currently getting back into it in our spare time. We're making a pirate themed turn based encounter RPG.

I mainly make games in XNA though I've been told I should get into Unity.

Anyone else into hobby game dev?

Re: Anyone into hobby game making?

Very rarely have I ever been interested in programming, but I did dabble in the past (because of my love for Rogue-likes), to participate in the 7DRL challenge in 2010. Outside of that very specific scope, it's all Latin to me.
    ~Psi~

Comment

(First post for me here!)

I am very much into Hobby Gaming - I have between four and six active projects at the moment (depending on how you define 'active'). I started because I develop Web Applications Professionally for a living so my early attempts were primarily browser based. I have one Browser Based 'game' completed that is merely a tool for running Star Wars D20 Pen and Paper RPG games through the web, and another that runs locally on my VPN for playing with my buddies that deals with outer space combat, and a third title we are working on commercializing.

On the XNA side I have dabbled in some basic XNA games, and now I am working the TXNA Engine to speed up development of a Space Combat (fighter) simulator I have had on the drawing board for quite some time.

Also....I am also located in Michigan, in Novi (but I have only been here two years and have no idea where Kalamazoo is!)

Comment

Originally posted by ASharpe View Post
        (First post for me here!)