No announcement yet.

Marine Corps OCS

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Marine Corps OCS

Related to this thread.

I've been training for over 18 months now to pass my Physical Fitness Test (PFT) to apply for the Marine Corps Officer Candidate School. The test consists of three events: Pull ups, sit ups, and a timed 3 mile run. The maximum score on you can achieve on the test is 300 points, 100 per event, and requires 20 pull ups, 100 sit ups, and an 18 minute run.

Applicants to OCS have higher minimum requirements to pass these three events then enlisted. Specifically, an applicant to MC OCS needs no more then 24 minutes on the three mile run to be considered.

I haven't passed a single PFT I have taken in the past 18 months. I've maxed out and exceeded the pull up and sit up requirements, but I can't seem to break 26 minutes on my 3 mile. I've been at the 26 minute mark for nearly 12 months! I am not a strong runner, I'm plagued with shin splints and, to a degree, I guess poor mental endurance. I've made a great deal of progress through my training (I used to do a sloppy 8 pull ups, 70 some sit ups, 30 minute run), I've physically gotten pretty damn scary looking (I went from 195lbs at 30% body fat to 190lbs 14% body fat) but I still can't seem to break my running time.

I know that if I stick with this I will eventually get faster, but time is not on my side. I have one semester left of college before I graduate. I get married in May. I had planned on attending OCS this summer in June, but it looks like that might not be a possibility. My fiance and I decided (realistically, SHE decided) it is not in our best interests for me to enlist. If I'm going to serve my country I'm going to do it as an officer.