Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Becoming a programming Guru.

Here's a brief overview:
    I've been working full time in the "real world" for 6 months now developing applications in ASP and VB. It's been over a week now since I've quit my job (long story, PM me if you are really interested!) but I've also been accepted into Graduate School for Software Engineering and I start in January. I've been waived for all the prerequisite classes (mostly consisting of programming 101), but I want to spend the rest of my new found time getting back into some serious object oriented design.

P.S. 3 tries to OCS and 2 tries to OTS = 5 times rejected to service as an officer.

The problem:
    I understand all the concepts of object oriented design, but I've found little in terms of practice or implementation. Even my old text books (c++) don't give much info on advanced concepts other then "here's a cool feature that you can use but we won't tell you more about it beyond the fact that it exists". I know c++/java and I've worked with a lot of scripted languages and built simple objects and class structures. But then I go look at the source for HL/HL2/Q3 and I sit back trying to figure out just wtf is going on.

Am I going to find anything on the internet (tutorials/articles) or at the bookstore that's going to give me an edge programming wise or is this entirely a "break something and learn" process? All I've found so far are introductory to intermediate tutorials/articles that cover the basics to some stuff that's way beyond my understanding right now (see: nothing in between).
    USAR

Re: Becoming a programming Guru.

Squeak.. I'm glad you posted this because I was actually about to post an entirely new thread on what IMO is the absolute BEST and EASIEST way to get into programming (game design at that). Aside from that, I think it's a good idea if we get Apophis to build a Game/Software Development forum.