Need Advice on Getting Fit for Basic Military Qualifications

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need Advice on Getting Fit for Basic Military Qualifications

I’ve decided to join the Canadian Army. The fitness requirements for my gender and age are as follows:
    - run 2.4 KM in 13 minutes
    - do 19 pushups
    - do 19 situps
    - squeeze 75 kilograms in a hand grip

I have not tested myself, but as a rough ballpark, this is what I can do right now: jog 6KM in 45 minutes, and maybe five pushups and situps. Obviously, that’s pathetic.

I want to improve. I’m quite new to this entire business and I’d surely appreciate some help and adivce. I’m willing to dedicate 1 hour per weekday in the morning and more on the weekend.

My goals are as follows:
    - run 6 KM in 30 minutes (this is longer and faster than required for entrance)
    - do 50 proper pushups
    - do 50 proper situps
    - squeeze 100 KG in a hand grip

What do I need to do to achieve that? Please share your personal stories, tips, recommendations -- both pre- and post-entrance fitness in the military. (I imagine the fitness requirements/training/regime is similar in the other world militaries. Am I correct in assuming this?)

On a personal note, I haven't felt this focused and empowered in a long time. There is a real goal, a challenge, ahead of me, and I am quite aware and certain that I can match and exceed it with enough work and discipline. I'm looking forward to training.

Re: Need Advice on Getting Fit for Basic Military Qualifications

You can definitely do it! The hardest part is actually getting to it. Once you get a set routine, you'll get in shape at a steady pace and in plenty of time for basic training. Good luck and thanks for serving your country.
    "Common sense is not so common." -Voltaire

Comment

I've been training for entering basic sometime this summer.

2 mile run: 19:16
      1.5 mile run: 13:45
      Push-Ups: 34
      Sit-Ups: 38