Triathalon Training Bike

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Triathalon Training Bike

Hey, does anyone have experience with road bikes?

I'm going to start training for a tri and I have no biking background (or swimming for that matter). After looking at bike shops and online I realized that road bikes cost more than my first car.

Does anyone have a suggestion for an inexpensive bike that doesn't completely suck?

My potential price range is upto 700 but I'd much rather keep it under 400.
    |TG|Switch

Better known as:
    That noob who crashed the chopper.
    That noob who ran over the mine.
    That noob who TK'd me with a sniper rifle.
    That noob who hit that APC at 300m with light AT! Our APC...

Re: Triathalon Training Bike

I'm not a road bike expert, but I do have a nice Cannondale and have spent a lot of time looking into Tri's and road biking.

What length of tri are you looking to do? Sprint/Olympic/Half/Full? With no biking background how likely are you to try this once and not want to do it again? You don't have to have a road bike for a Tri, you can do it on a mountain bike, however, most people don't because of the weight of a mountain bike and the big knobby tires.

I started with a Hybrid Bike, they (start) cheaper than road bikes and offer a more upright sitting position.

Trek is always going to be a good choice
    http://bgindy.com/itemdetails.cfm?id=10698

So is Cannondale:
    http://bgindy.com/itemdetails.cfm?id=9860

As you saw Road bikes get expensive quickly (plus Tri specific bikes start expensive), plus most do not come with pedals.

I've never ridden a Giant, but I've heard good things about them and generally they start less expensive than Trek or Cannondale

http://bgindy.com/itemdetails.cfm?id=9780
    http://a1cyclery.com/itemdetails.cfm?id=1801