CPU Heatsink

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• CPU Heatsink

Ok, I have an AMD Phenom 9950 Black Edition which is a 2.6GHz processor. I plan on overclocking it to 3.0GHz soon, BUT i need a good CPU heatsink first. The stock heatsink is crap, it rusn roughly 40-42C on idle. When playing a heavy game like ArmA 2, it goes up to nearly 60C, which i believe 64C is the highest temp this thing can go. I want to be able to overclock to 3.0GHz, and keep a temperature of at least 45-50C while playing a game like ArmA 2 and perhaps an idling temperature of roughly 30C.

So, anyone have any good thoughts on a Heatsink that works GREAT and is a decent price? It must fit an AM2 Socket(I believe).

Re: CPU Heatsink

I have the xigmatek hdt s-1283 ( http://www.xigmatek.com/product/air-hdts1283.php ) and it dropped my temps by 20 degrees celsius on an intel e8400 at 3.0 ghz. OC'ed to 3.84 and under load it gets no warmer than 62 (this is my first attempt at an overclock so I could probably drop the voltage a bit which I would think would also decrease my temp but I haven't tried it yet). I picked it up at microcenter for $20 after rebate and have been very pleased =)
    |TG-Irr|Avengingllama
    I used to eat paint chips. Now I just drink the paint because I couldn't find a salsa that went well with the chips and they were dry =)

Comment

I also have the Xigmatek. It works great but I've heard that it has some trouble keeping up with an overclocked quad. That said, you're not likely to get much more than 3 GhZ out of an Agena and if you're not going to push the volts too much, you shouldn't have an issue. It is a great cooler. Keep in mind, however, that it can only be positioned to blow up or down in an AMD system.
      sigpic

Comment