No announcement yet.

Hello everyone ... nOOb here :)

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello everyone ... nOOb here :)

I couldn't find an introductions section to the site or forums so I thought I'd pop in here and just post a quick hello to everyone at TG.

Originally born n raised in South Yorkshire England, moved to Vancouver Island, British Columbia, Canada at the age of 16 and now @ 41 years young, I'm I guess what you'd call a mature gamer, although I do have a friend or two the same age that are anything but mature :(

Started gaming waaaaaaay waaaaaaay back in the Commodore Vic 20 era, took a long break and then got heavily into the sports games on the early consoles such as Tecmo Bowl, Early Joe Montana Football and Hockey games, Blades of Steel, NHL series etc ... Then one day I stopped in at a friends place and heard the grunts of Doom " Knee Deep in the Dead".... I asked my buddy if I could get that game for my Sega (LOL) at which point I learned that I needed a PC to play these groundbreaking new games on. Shift forward ... Next day, purchased a screaming fast
    486 SX25, 4 Megabytes of RAM, 70 Meg Hard Disk, 5 n a quarter inch Floppy drive ... Yes that's right 25 Mhz with no math co-processor, can u believe anything ran on that thing ... LOL Had to teach myself DOS 6.2 and Windows 3.11 for Workgroups. Upgraged to 8 Megs of RAM for a cost of $400 for 4 more megs, then the massive new hard disk, 350 Megs ($500) and then a 2X CD Rom drive to try out Seventh Guest ... Hehe :)

My system today ... Slightly more powerful: AMD Phenom X4 940 3.0 Ghz, 8 Gigs DDR, Multiple Hard Disks (over 2 TB) 2X GT285's with 1 Gig each in SLI, 30" LG Flatty & a Track IR !!!