Personal Finance Help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Personal Finance Help

Well mainly I need some assistance in finding out how much is taken out of each paycheck in taxes... I looked around at some websites but were no help, so I decided to come here. (BTW, I'm 18, Senior in high school and this is my first job, so I'm new to all this)

I got my first paycheck today. The pay period is every Friday, and I get paid every Friday for the previous week's work. I worked one day last week @ $8/hour for 5.5 hours. I made $44 gross, $39.21 net. It says total withholdings is $4.69. Is there a way to calculate how much I'm paying in taxes percentage wise? I work 3 days a week every week, so by multiplying $4.49 by 3 I'll be paying $14.07 every week in taxes (Right? IDK if that's how it works >.<). How much would that come out to be percentage wise? I feel I should know this by being in an AP Calculus class -.- haha.

The only deductions I have is FICA Social Security, FICA Med, and State Withholding. It says Federal Withholding on their but I didn't pay anything for that, and I'm not sure if I will have to pay for that in the near future or not. (Also I work in Lansing, IL. I don't know if that information is relevant to this question or not.)

Also an example would be: I'm doing 17.5 hours this week @ $8/hour which comes out to $140 at the end of the week. How much am I going to be paying from that in taxes? If it's what my reasoning is above, then it'll be $126.93 on my next paycheck. Correct or not?

Thanks for reading and helping me out!! :)

Re: Personal Finance Help

Taxes are taken as a percentage of your gross income. The percentage taken can vary from area to area, so you'll need to check out some stuff locally to figure that out. If federal taxes are not being taken out then you may want to look into that as if you should be paying them and your not then you will have to pay them in one lump sum come tax time next year.