Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Research Project: Realism in Sandbox Gaming

Hello.
    My name is Matthew Brown, i am a first year student at Sheffield Hallam University.
    As part of my Critical Analysis project i am researching into how Realism in the Sandbox genre effects gameplay.
    I posted this on a few "popular gaming communities and got alot of immature answers, so i come to you in an act of desperation.

The question i would like to ask relates to your opinions.

Out of the following games which do you find most 1) Realistic 2) Fun to play.

GTA4
    Saints Row 2
    Crackdown

Things i urge you to consider while answering my question are:

In terms of realism i mean
    a) how it looks graphically
    b) the physics
    c) the context, meaning the story and background of the game. and/or its justification for its realism.
    d) the compromise developers make between making their game realistic and fun to play.

I would love to hear your views and will appreciate any input, and hopefully use it in my project.
    Thank you for your time.

Re: Research Project: Realism in Sandbox Gaming

I seriously doubt you'll get many immature answers here. This community loves to help people out with research projects.

As far as the three games listed goes, I would have to find that GTA4 is probably the most realistic of the three. For sheer entertainment value, it could be a tossup between any of them as they all do have intriguing and engaging aspects at various points.

For your specific criteria, I'd break it down as follows:
    -GTA4 has fairly good graphics, as does crackdown. The graphics on SR2 are much more reminiscent of GTA3 and its spinoffs.