NAS drive?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NAS drive?

I am delving into the world of NAS and want one for the home for back ups and sharing files with friends and family, I do not need it to be wireless.

I will not be using this as a server for gaming or anything, mainly I just want it for backup and sharing with fast enough read/write speeds to and from the device, my network can handle high speeds probably faster than the drive itself.

So This Drive just came out and it looks good from the benchmarks, I just do not understand 2 things in the benchmark.

NASPT Directory Copy?
    NASPT content creation?

These seem to be the slowest read/write speeds and I am not sure what they mean, does anyone here know what they mean, and do you think it would be a good purchase for my needs?

The drive inside is a Seagate Barracuda LP 2 TB (ST32000542AS), I think the drive is non-removable. ;)

I am new to all this NAS stuff, so any help is appreciated! :icon14:

Iomega NAS drive 2TB

Re: NAS drive?

Directory Copy is just that, you copy an entire folder and all it's subfolder and files worth from one desktop onto the attached storage. Often times with these one-stop solutions is that they do not offer the performance of a dedicated server box, so hence both directory copy (large and many files) and content creation (creating something in real-time and storing it directly to the drive) tend to be the slowest since these solutions often lack in the processing power range and multiple/RAIDed drives (which offer much better write/read speeds).

Here's a more detailed explanation on how SmallNetBuilder runs their various performance tests in their NAS reviews: http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/n...owall=&start=1