New build advice needed

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New build advice needed

Disclaimer: My seperation from the hardware side of IT came about 10 years ago. Building it is easy, knowing the hardware technolgy is something I am not familiar with anymore. My career took me from IT into databases.

What I do not need: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, joystick, etc. Just the stuff that goes in the case.

I have a cooler master centurion c5 (cac-t05 case) which I would prefer to continue using. I have no problems with integrated sound on the mobo, since I mostly game with a headset, but all the guts in a case is what I need. This will be a gaming rig for myself for the next 3 years.

Budget: $1300

I will need the os as well, but I know squat about the windows 7 versions. If someone would not mind taking the time to help me with a rig that fits that budget and vague description I would be grateful. There is a good chance I would buy the wrong ram or some noob mistake like that, were I to do it.

Thanks!
    sigpic

Re: New build advice needed

First off, what games are you playing and what games do you want to play in the near future?

Second, what resolution is your monitor?
    |TG-18th| Acreo Aeneas
    TG World of Tanks Clan Executive Officer
    Former 9th & 13th

Pronounciation: Eh-Cree-Oh Ah-Nay-Ess
    Still can't say it? Call me Acorn then. -.-

SSDs I Own: Kingston HyperX 3K (240 GB), Samsung 840 Pro (256 GB), Samsung 840 EVO (250 GB), Samsung 840 x 2 (120 GB), Plextor M5S (120 GB), OCZ Vertex (30 GB)

TG Primer and Rules

Comment

I use two monitors at 1280x1024 with dvi cables to vid card. One of those was going to be repurposed for the son's computer, to be replaced probably with this acer monitor. I set aside 200 for the monitor and 1300 for the machine. Primarily 1st person shooters Like the battlefield series, as far as games I will use it for, however I am equal opportunity and tend to do a little bit of everything.
      sigpic