Sound cards for a newby?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sound cards for a newby?

I have no experience with sound cards and have never actually bought one but seeing as I built a new computer I said why not.

Couple of things. If I get a sound card, will it actually make a big impact in sound quality compared to my onboard sound? Im talking noticable increase and not like 5 - 10% increase in quality. And will I be able to buy one that makes such a difference for around 50 dollars?

Best Buy had a pricing error on the X-Fi Titanium HD for $50, normally they are $120+. Some people bought 20-30 of them I, myself just bought one. But you can sometimes find those people selling them off for $60-70 which is a steal.

Now dedicated sounds cards are leaps and bounds better than onboard, and takes a little stress off of the processor. Asus tends to lean more towards music and X-Fi towards gaming, but they can both adequately do both. If you use a pair of quality headphones that need to be pushed to 330-600 ohms then some also have dedicated headphone amps. One thing is though, I have noticed that BF3 doesn't really take advantage of my sound card as other games do because it uses its own sound engine that's different from others. Another brand to look out for is Auzentech, they seem to be best of both worlds with X-Fi but no Creative bloatware. The Forte was one of the best of their line but they are discontinued and I'm sure their newer line is superior.

Sent from my right hand using Slappatalk
    A.E.K.Δ.B.

Comment

Re: Sound cards for a newby?

Originally posted by Kwalc View Post
      Couple of things. If I get a sound card, will it actually make a big impact in sound quality compared to my onboard sound? Im talking noticable increase and not like 5 - 10% increase in quality. And will I be able to buy one that makes such a difference for around 50 dollars?