Good deal at Newegg on OCZ Vertex III

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Good deal at Newegg on OCZ Vertex III

Just scored an OCZ Vertex III for less than $100. Almost 50% off. Thought I'd post it up and let anyone know who might be in the market.

The Vertex III has had some issues early on but from what I've read here and there firmware released at the tail end of 2011 fixed those issues.

Ive been running a Vertex II for a couple of years with zero issues. The Vertex III will allow me to finally use my Sata 6Gbps transfer rate on my Asus P6X58D motherboard. The Vertex II was not able to utilize those rates (did they fix it in a firmware update??)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820227759
    sigpic
    |TG-1st|Grunt
    ARMA Admin (retired)
    Pathfinder-Spartan 5

Re: Good deal at Newegg on OCZ Vertex III

still not sold on SS drives....there fast but I still see way to many failures in the ratings for the cost.
    "Everyone makes fun of us rednecks with our big trucks and all our guns........until the zombie apocalypse"

Comment

I hear you Ven. The price is right so I thought I'd take a calculated chance. My first OCZ has been rock solid so hopefully it will be the same story.
      sigpic
      |TG-1st|Grunt
      ARMA Admin (retired)
      Pathfinder-Spartan 5

Comment

I have had 4 drives.. a corsair f60, 2 OCZ Solid3's and a corsair Force GT 120. All of them have been rock solid. Temp files wear out an SSD... pagefiles, cache... all the crap your OS likes to rewrite 100 times a second. keep that junk off there and make your SSD basically read only - and it will last for decades. My corsair f60 is set to die in July of 2021.
        Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former. -Albert Einstein
        The two most common elements in the universe are Hydrogen and stupidity. -Harlan Ellison

If all else fails: "rm -rf /"

Comment

Originally posted by =DdogG= View Post