New video card cooler?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New video card cooler?

I posted a couple weeks ago about getting some artifacting issues with my video card. It seems that my card is just overheating, and that I should upgrade the cooler on it. I've got zero experience replacing these, but I'm sure it's not hard. Just got a couple questions before I head to newegg:

Any recommendations for a good/cheap cooler for my 9700 Pro All in Wonder?

Do I need to worry about thermal grease or anything? Pretty sure that's just for cpu's but I wanted to check.

Thanks!
    Beatnik

Re: New video card cooler?

I had an Arctic Cooling VGA Cooler (revision 3?.. or 5?.. i forget) on my 9700, they should fit on your AIW I think. Large heatsink, with the exhaust going out of the case, instead of re-circulating inside. and quiet. My god, the difference from my stock ATI cooler was blissful.

I also bought RAMsinks for the memory, I don't think the VGA Coolers for the 9x00 series cover the memory chips... I could be wrong though.
    |TG|Syn - [defense] :row__572:

Comment

Originally posted by Beatnik
      I posted a couple weeks ago about getting some artifacting issues with my video card. It seems that my card is just overheating, and that I should upgrade the cooler on it. I've got zero experience replacing these, but I'm sure it's not hard. Just got a couple questions before I head to newegg:

Any recommendations for a good/cheap cooler for my 9700 Pro All in Wonder?

Do I need to worry about thermal grease or anything? Pretty sure that's just for cpu's but I wanted to check.

Thanks!
      They are easy to change, just follow the instructions ;) And yes, GPU's run hot, in most cases hotter than today's CPU's. You definitely need thermal grease. Most GPU coolers will come with some.

Comment

Originally posted by Syn