Securing Windows

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Securing Windows

Most of you know I am studying Computer and Network Security. I figured I would layout some links to help everyone secure their pc’s especially with the amount of viruses that are going around now.

These are just baseline standards to get security started on your machine.

Windows NT 4.0 Workstation

Windows NT 4.0 Server

Windows 2000 Server

Windows XP

For additional security you can use a firewall (I do not give recommendations).

ZoneAlarm® Pro
    Tiny Firewall 5.0
    Norton
    McAfee's
    Black ICE

also if you use Windows Server 2003, Windows 2000, or Windows XP you can run Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer to see how secure your machine is.
    WARNING: DO NOT LET DR. MARIO TOUCH YOUR GENITALS. HE IS NOT A REAL DOCTOR.

I thought the best way of securing your computer was to uninstall any type of Windows operating system :D :D :D

Comment

Originally posted by Wolfie
      I thought the best way of securing your computer was to uninstall any type of Windows operating system :D :D :D
      Well not all are able to understand linux or Mac so they worship Winblows

Comment

I have complaints across the board. I will admit to being very "at home" while using a command line, but I don't believe that's true for the majority of users.

At some point I'm going to have to load a minimal linux installation and then tack on its modules one by one. I have a rather large disagreement with the default directory structure, and I find it impossible to learn from standard installations of Redhat and its ilk. By the time I'm done, I'd probably end up with my own flavor of linux. For now, however, I'd rather play games. :)

Comment

Originally posted by Lirix
          I have a rather large disagreement with the default directory structure, and I find it impossible to learn from standard installations of Redhat and its ilk