Winamp Dies Today!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Winamp Dies Today!

I have been using Winamp for almost 15 years. Today it is being pulled off the market :-(

What would you recommend for my desktop streaming music needs? (Please, not iTunes or any Apple product).

I want zero commercials, a wide choice of stations from all over the world, and I want it for free.

Just like Winamp.
    sigpic

Re: Winamp Dies Today!

This may not be exactly what you are looking for, but I do have an aftermarket Pandora client that not only has no ads, but also allows unlimited skips. Of course that's not exactly streaming radio, but it's pretty close once you suggest a song and then clue it in, fine tuning the songs it plays with thumbs up or down.

If someone does suggest something that is more exact to what you are looking for, I would probably be interested as well, TBH.

Admittedly I am unaware, but isn't WinAmp just the player? Shouldn't it continue to play streams / stations (provided you could locate some)? Or were they providing the content as well? If the former were the case, I would say just continue to use it and you just won't be getting any more updates.
    "The power of accurate observation is commonly called cynicism by those who have not got it." - George Bernard Shaw

Comment

jango is close to it...

Interested in listening to guitar playing and a good conversation, look for me on TS.

"Hope is for the weak. I hope for nothing. I work for things. That is the only way for events to unfold." -Cleverbot

Comment

Foobar2000 - http://www.foobar2000.org/

I use it to play all my audio like I did for Winamp years ago, including online streaming radio like http://www.epicrockradio.com/ .
        Viking

Comment

I use spotify premium. 5 bucks a month and no ads. Been happy using it for a month now.
          Skud

Comment

I have MusicBee.

Comment