No announcement yet.

New computer rig, lead an opinion.

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New computer rig, lead an opinion.

Hi all im new to the TC, i hope this is the write place to write it, I hope i can get some opinions from some peeps.

Anyways, i recently built a new rig specs are :

AMD X2 4400 cpu
    2 gig of crucial ram
    geforce 7800 gtx
    raptor 72 gig drive (has windows on it)

I think thats all i need to submit, anyways, i only have this one drive in for now, but im noticing something, im new to the raptor technology, but i was expecting it to go super fast etc, into windows and battlefield etc.

Windows loads ok, but not super fast, my work computer loads windows faster, and it has a slower HDD and the cpu is a AMD 3200 XP, with 512 ram

Im just confused and id like some opinions, as I would expect this new pc to loads windows in under 15 seconds or something, it has hardly anything on it and ive loaded the basic stuff, including battlefield (lol basics :D).

Maybe i havent done something in bios, as a friend said an engineer sped his up by doing something in there. I dunno what else to say, it just doesnt seem super fast seen as i spent a bundle load on this new system.

please let me know, and make me feel welcome with love and tell me what you think

Re: New computer rig, lead an opinion.

i have 2 of the 38gb raptors all running sata and 1 180gb 7500rmp drive. im not quite sure what you were expecting from the raptors. these arn't 15k scsi or anything. yes, they are faster, but not by a great amount. what i did was raid 0 my 2 raptors which does make everything noticably faster (at least i think so) but its not like your booting off of ram or anything (my friend does and he gets bios to login in around 3 seconds)

do some googling for benchmarks, and im betting it will only be like a 10 or so % difference if that w/o raid.

well hold on a minute, you said you raided yours to 0, can you treat me like a baby cause im new to this lol.