Upgrade router or get range extender

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrade router or get range extender

I've been using the Netgear N600 for four years, but I need to improve wireless coverage across the entire house. The router is located on the first floor in one corner of the house and cannot be relocated. Should I look into upgrading the router to one with better range or should I get a range extender or wireless access points?
    |TG|Melee
    Clear Eyes, Full Hearts, Can't Lose!

Re: Upgrade router or get range extender

Well, I think getting an AC capable router would be good, but that only works out if you have AC in your other computers.

Interested in listening to guitar playing and a good conversation, look for me on TS.

"Hope is for the weak. I hope for nothing. I work for things. That is the only way for events to unfold." -Cleverbot

Comment

You can buy adapters for those computers, though you might be out of luck for cell phones that don't support your wireless.

"Quando omni flunkus moritati" -Red Green Show
      [Link to my Youtube!] [Link to my Twitch!]
      [support]

Comment

Did your current wireless access point ever cover adequately?

Does it cover half of the house well enough?
        |TG-12th| Namebot

Comment

I would say the current router covers half of the house adequately.

The current setup is a wired connection to my PC and wireless connections made by a couple of laptops, two iPads, four phones, and two Blu-Ray players. Though just a few of those at any given time. The only ac device is my phone.
          |TG|Melee

Comment

Look for a device that has a better processing capability. I can't say for certain, but this may help with speed of managing/ sorting data...

Interested in listening to guitar playing and a good conversation, look for me on TS.

"Hope is for the weak. I hope for nothing. I work for things. That is the only way for events to unfold." -Cleverbot

Comment