Upgrading PC help

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Upgrading PC help

I am planning on upgrading some low-end parts that I still have in my PC to be able to play arma 3, other upcoming games and stream/record every now and then, so this is what I'm getting myself into

CPU, RAM and Motherboard are the items I am looking to replace, new parts are listed below and my current ones are: AMD 965 quad core 3.4GHz, 2x4 1600 MHz RAM with the old pin connector and ASUS m4a87td/usb3

Since I am not experienced with building PC's my questions are if these parts will all work, what I have to keep in mind when it comes to cables etc, and things to keep in mind when im replacing the parts (I did build a PC once long ago, I hope I know how to again.) My plan was to keep all other parts as they're mostly new and there's some thermal paste left from the aftermarket CPU Cooler

am I gonna be in deep trouble? let me know :)

PCPartPicker part list: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/4tcrZL
    Price breakdown by merchant: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/4tcrZL/by_merchant/

CPU: Intel Core i7-6700K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($419.99 @ Amazon)
    CPU Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO 82.9 CFM Sleeve Bearing CPU Cooler ($29.99 @ Amazon)
    Motherboard: Asus Z170 PRO GAMING ATX LGA1151 Motherboard ($147.98 @ Newegg)
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-3200 Memory ($124.99 @ Amazon)
    Storage: Corsair Force Series 3 120GB 2.5" Solid State Drive
    Video Card: Asus Radeon R9 280 3GB DirectCU II Video Card
    Power Supply: Corsair RM 1000W 80+ Gold Certified Fully-Modular ATX Power Supply ($155.99 @ Amazon)
    Operating System: Microsoft Windows 10 Pro OEM (64-bit) ($130.65 @ OutletPC)
    Total: $1009.59
    Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available
    Generated by PCPartPicker 2016-01-02 13:37 EST-0500

my HDD is a 500 GB something and the case is an Ikonic model which I didn't even find on pcpartpicker