No announcement yet.

PSU Voltage Question

This topic is closed.
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PSU Voltage Question

OK, I've never really payed much attention to PS voltages but I picked up my new 500W Ultra X-Connect and was watching the voltages last night.

Total noob question...

I noticed the -5 and -12 voltages were a bit weird. All of the + voltages were excellent.

-5V was 0
    -12V was -8.82

Should I be concerned? It's a modular PSU (not that it makes a difference) and all I have connected right now cable-wise is the 20 pin ATX to the MB and 3 4-pin power connectors (2X CD/DVD drives, 1X floppy, 2X HD and 4 case fans).

Re: PSU Voltage Question

How were you monitoring the voltages? Through your BIOS? MBM? Multimeter directly on the PSU connectors?

If those measurements are accurate, you've got a bad power supply.

I highly advise getting a name brand PSU and avoiding the cheap units that can destroy the rest of your PC.
    Become a supporting member!
    Buy a Tactical Duck!
    Take the world's smallest political quiz! "I was touched by His Noodly Appendage."
    TacticalGamer TX LAN/BBQ Veteran:

Thanks for the response CD.

MBM5. Now, I'm wondering if it was just wrong settings in MBM5 as I didn't have much time to look at it. I'll check the voltages in the BIOS when I get home tonight.

Ultra is apparently very much a high-end PS. The reviews are all very positive and one of the reasons I chose it is because ALL of the reviews commented on how stable the voltages were.

EDIT: The other thing making me think this was just settings in MBM5 is all components ran fine last night and everything was under load as well as I played a round of BF2 later in the evening.
      Last edited by DigitalAssassin; 01-11-2006, 01:46 PM.

Just MBM5. Make sure it's configured correctly for your motherboard.