Pci-e

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pci-e

okay im a noob to this area, still using AGP 4x. I understand that you can put graphics cards in the PCI-e16x spots but can i put into the 1x slots?. can i stick a regular PCI card into those or do they make special cards that i might want to look into. and now i see there is a 4x too...great

Im asking this becuase im sure there are others who want to know the same thing and also im Looking at upgrading this summer or sooner so it would be helpful for me to know this stuff....

thx for the help
    Last edited by Trooper; 01-26-2006, 11:52 AM.
    that sounds like a good idea trooper.
    -Vulcan

Re: Pci-e

Here's a drawing of a pci, a 1xpci-e and a 16xpci-e slot.

From the drawing you can see that they aren't interchangable.

Source of the picture is a Matrox article in which they talk about their first 1xpci-e video card.

Comment

I'm no expert but If it were me I 'd first upgrade my MOBO to one that included a PCI E slot. BTW...I'm also using a AGP card at the moment.

There are hunderds of choices for MOBO's with PCI E slots I bet you could find one for $100-$125 or so. (go to newegg- the choices are overwhelming)

If you don't have the budget for both the vid card and the mobo at least you'd be ready for the better card upgrade when you can afford it.

I had just purchased an AGP based EVGA 6800GT a month earlier when I decided to do a new computer build. for my next build next year I'm all over the PCI E mobo's - and probably an SLI capable one at that. Good luck

Edit...I had heard there were also mobo's out there that had both AGP and PCI Express- I did a quick search at Newegg and found a board from ASROCK (value line up from ASUS) Here is the link if you are interested
      http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157081

PS...assembling a computer is pretty easy these days
      Last edited by Grunt 70; 01-26-2006, 04:49 PM.
      sigpic
      |TG-1st|Grunt