Video Card purchase

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Video Card purchase

So I've been looking for quite a while at upgrading to 64bit and PCIe, and finally got around to it. I'm commiting roughly 800$ to a new motherboard, processor, some RAM, and video card(s). I'm still a highschool student, so I don't have much more money :). But, I have picked out a Athlon 64 X2 3800+, 2gb Corsair Valueselect RAM, and an ABIT SLI ready motherboard. My only dilemma is in picking out a videocard. I'm stuck between one XFX GeForce 6800GS, or 2 XFX 6800XT's. Both cards have 256mb of RAM, both are 256bit. The 6800XT has slightly lower clock speeds, but after lots of reading, I know that it is quite the overclocker. I've seen an AGP model of the 6800GS in action with 1.5gb of RAM on an Athlon XP mobile 2600+(?) @ 2.1ghz. It ran all the games I play a lot better than what I am now. I thought about just getting a 7600GT, but I can't afford to add another 100$ to my pricetag. Give me your opinion.

|CS:S Dev Team|

root: I do it to
    steve: OMG
    steve: TOO
    root: ****ing hell
    root: Spelling nazi down! MEDIC!

Go ahead, you know you all envy me, I corrected root's grammar :D

Re: Video Card purchase

Two 3d cards are going to take 1 3d card, take it outside into an alley, and beat it over the head with a lead pipe. The 6800GS is an amazing card, but a SAW is an amazing gun and I wouldn't go up against 2 guys with AK-47s any day of the week no matter how tricked out my SAW is.

Comment

direct X10 cards come out this summer, hopefully, id would just go low end for now then upgrade high end when those are released..

..i seem to say that alot in my threads reguarding Video Cards
      that sounds like a good idea trooper.
      -Vulcan

Comment