Fans, cooling, and you...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Fans, cooling, and you...

Alright, I'm gonna preface this with I am no engineer. I have worked amongst them in several HVAC related jobs but that's where my expertise ends. With that said, on with my discussion.

How many fans do you think it takes to cool a pc? 1, 2, or 32,000? Well, with a properly designed case and airflow structure I'd venture to say 1, 2 max should be sufficient. I've looked at several cases and even done some "web" research in this matter. It seems adding tons of fans is actually not good and can even degrade cooling by way of them interfering with each others airflow.

With a larger amount of air coming in you get positive pressure which isn't quite as good as negative for cooling but keeps more dust out. With negative pressure (more air going out) you get better cooling but a haven for dust.

What about placement? Front, rear, side, top? ALL? It actually seems that one rear 120 mm fan is about the best of all solutions for cooling, noise, etc...

So, what say you? I know there are far more educated folks here than myself to enlighten us all and even disprove some of my thoughts.

In the pursuit of... something.

Re: Fans, cooling, and you...

I don't know much about fans either, but I can say that where you place them is key.

Comment

i just try and follow TWO rules

1: In at the bottom/front
      2: out at the top/back

i try and even out my pressures really, but saying that almost all my cases are negative pressures, so full of dust and cat hairs!
      From Adam Webb

Comment