Also building a PC

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Also building a PC

I am a comp noob but have a friend who is a comp genious. i want to compare what he tells me to what my fellow killers at TG tell me.

I have between $750 and $1200 to spend to build (or have someone build) a new "gaming computer.

What would you do? WWJD???

Thanks!!!!

Ben

All I ask for is communication

Re: Also building a PC

Is it for gaming only? There is a new set of CPUs coming out from Intel late next month. You may be well serverd by waiting for that, but patience isn't everyone's game; Keep in mind though that even if you don't want to be an early adopter, the Intel launch will decrease the cost of many AMD chips by around 50%. So there you have it; I recommend waiting until August or so to build.

If, however, you must go now, here's a good setup:

Asus A8N-E 939 Ultra Mobo $95
    AMD 3700+ $210
    X1900XT $400
    Corsiar ValueSelect 2x1GB $170
    Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 300GB OEM $110
    Seasonic S12 500W PSU $130
    DVD Burner/CD Burner Combo $30
    Case of your choice $80

That comes in at $1225 without keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, shipping or tax. If you want to cut costs, switch the video card to a 7900GT or X1800XT - these vary in price from around $230 to $300 depending on the options. I expect dual-core games (dual-threaded we'll call them) to be released sometime in Q1-Q4 '07, so depending on the benchmarks you may be well served plunking $200 down on a processor upgrade around that time. That's purely speculative though; for the time being, you're wasting your money with dual-cores for gaming.
    A policy of freedom for the individual is the only truly progressive policy. -F.A. Hayek

"$250,000 a year won't get me to Central Park West."

Comment

interesting. It will be mainly for gaming, but also for photoshop etc...

I will probably go for a lower end vid card, like a 7300+.

I will reuse the cd/dvd burner/writer from my current HP.