No announcement yet.

Odd Internet and Latency Issues

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Odd Internet and Latency Issues

Okay, throughout the summer I was at my Dad's house in Austin, and had an internet speed of about 2.5 Mbs on average. On most servers, both TG and non TG, I had an average ping of 10-30.

I moved back to Dallas for school, and had to have internet installed in my new apartment. It is Charter. Last night, this test (Internet Performance and Speed Test) told me I was about 1.7 Mbs a second.Today, I'm guessing to more total activity, its been going between .8 and 1.3 Mbs. However, I just looked at server listings (both TG and non TG), and saw that the once low pings were now from 150 (absolute low) to a more normal 200, to a high of 250. I even joined a game of NS to see of Steam itself was bugging, and saw everyone else with nice Ping, and me with 180-250.

I have no background programs running that use the internet, besides Steam (which I've checked, and isn't updating or anything). Does anyone know why I would be getting such bad latency? Or are there any tips to help it, besides calling Charter and not getting help?

Re: Odd Internet and Latency Issues

You should probably just call your ISP, it probably isn't your computer. But do you have any other computers in the house you can see if the problem is present on them?
    |TG| Lorian
    Member since 18th February 2006

No other computers. But I had a similar problem with Charter last school year. Onn, I average 250 to 350 Kbs, and got ping from 200 to 800 on servers. Its the main reason my TG activity dropped significantly. The reason I'm reluctant to call Charter is because they have horrible customer service (I don't want to go into detail with my experiances).

EDIT: Just spoke with Charter, against my better judgement. And I really don't understand why they outsource the part of their company that deals with customers to a place where the workers can't speak clear english.