PC will not power on.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PC will not power on.

Thought I'd post here and see if anyone has any suggestions. I have a newer built PC that has been working fine for about 10 months now; until last night when I went to turn it on and I got no response from it at all. I do get the power light on the motherboard but thats it. I swapped out the power supply with one I know works but it didn't help. I'm getting the feeling that my motherboard may have failed on me(ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM). Any suggestions of what to try or past experiences with this type of issue would be extremely helpful!

Re: PC will not power on.

Try resetting your CMOS. It's either gonna be a very small button, or a jumper on your mobo. Also try removing the battery to your mobo, then putting it back in. That might help.

Disclaimer: I'm not VERY tech savvy at these things, so maybe you should wait to see if someone else suggests doing this, and then try it yourself. lol I don't know what could happen if somehow you mess up doing it!
    |TG-33rd|Clawhammer
    [squadl] [sniper][unit]

Comment

both good suggestions claw. You might want to pull some of your ram out and try starting up with just one chip at a time, switching out the chip until you get it to start up. Try an old vid card or onboard video and remove your current vid card. Does the Mobo Post, AKA make it's starting noises, fans etc. Does your monitor recognize any signal?

If none of those work then it does indeed sound like your MB just blew it's copper top.. :(

- -

Comment

also take out sound card and try it without it.

Asus likely has that under warranty...tha'ts pretty new... I think they do a 1 year warranty so I'd look into an RMA right away. Good products but they're service is slow as hell...though you usually get what you need in the long run.