Stupid Windows Desktop Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stupid Windows Desktop Question

Ok I managed to make my 'Desktop' icon disappear from my quick launch bar, and despite a half hour poking around can't find where to go to bring it back. Can anyone point me in the right direction??

Yes, I'm a n00b... ;)
    Beatnik

Re: Stupid Windows Desktop Question

n00b ... oh crap, where did mine go...

Try looking under the control panel to restore it, or you can try dragging the icon from within explorer to the spot you want it on the launch bar. I'm not sure either of those will work, because I've never done that before.

Comment

Right click on your task bar....click tool bars and then check quick luanch
      that sounds like a good idea trooper.
      -Vulcan

Comment

My quicklaunch bar is there, but the Desktop icon that minimizes all open windows is what I'm looking to restore.
        Beatnik

Comment

navigate here: C:\Documents and Settings\Beatnik

and then drag a short-cut of your C:\Documents and Settings\Beatnik\Desktop to the quick launch bar

Comment

Cool - that'll bring up the Desktop folder instead of minimizing all windows to the Desktop itself, but it'll work! Thanks!

Actually, one more stupid Windoze question... I typically open docs by navigating through My Computer, doubleclicking on the doc or spreadsheet, and Windows would open that doc in the appropriate application. For the past few weeks though, doubleclicking on a doc just opens the application (e.g. MS Word), but not the doc itself, meaning I need to go back and re-doubleclick the doc. Anyone had and resolved this issue??

I <3 Windows, by the way. ugh.
            Beatnik

Comment

ohhhh.. THAT icon.. sorry, my bad!

I use the <Windows-D> keyboard combo to do that... if you can't figure it out :icon_lol:

Comment

Jesus. I am truly ignorant.