Motherboard ?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motherboard ?

To make a long story short, my motherboard needs to be replaced as it's causing my processor fans to blow like a hair dryer. I am having a tech rep replace the motherboard.

Will I lose any of my games, files, etc. when the motherboard is replaced? Does the motherboard effect memory on a PC?
    |TG-9th| TheFatKidDeath
    "Born to Party, Forced to Work."
    - Check me out on The Onion
    - I'm on the local news!

Re: Motherboard ?

Originally posted by TheFatKidDeath View Post
    To make a long story short, my motherboard needs to be replaced as it's causing my processor fans to blow like a hair dryer. I am having a tech rep replace the motherboard.

Will I lose any of my games, files, etc. when the motherboard is replaced? Does the motherboard effect memory on a PC?
    Im no expert but i dont think so. All your games and files are stored on your hard drive.

TG-E1st TacticalGamer European Division |

Comment

No but you will need to install the drivers for the new mobo once you install it. You do need to do a backup of the HDD before you install it to make sure you have backups if something goes wrong.
      Retired 6th DB

Comment

I also need to get a new motherboard because the one I have in this Dell has old school PCI slots and is killing me and I am looking to go PCI-E. As far as vid card is concerned. I have the highest card Nvidia makes more PCI which is my 6200 and it has served me fine till now. I am unable to play Armed Assualt or Rainbow 6 Vegas. I don;t know much when it comes to this stuff and would love for some help guys. I'm not looking for anything too expensive but just enough to get the job done. If someone could please be ask kind to tell me what motherboard I need or how to figure out based on what comp I have I would really appreciate it. These are my specs hopefully some of you can help a fellow TG'er out!!

System Manufacturer: Dell Computer Corporation