Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Soundblaster X-Fi a complete waste of $?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soundblaster X-Fi a complete waste of $?

I had high hopes for my new X-fi card, but so far the thing has only let me down.

* Pops and crackle seems to be comming out of that thing all the time in BF-2142
    * I was working happily on my PC doing some work when suddenly the card decided to throw of an awfull constant high pitch scream(at 100% volume). I almost fell off my chair(with my headphones on)

Anyone have the same experience?
    --
    VI VI VI - the number of the beast

Re: Soundblaster X-Fi a complete waste of $?

I've been lucky with my X-Fi. I've been using it for about two months and did not experience crackling in any games (2142 included). No high pitched whines or crashing due to sound.

The one problem I've had is the occasional disappearance of the card after a reboot. It was due to the Gigabyte DS3 not detecting the card and was fixed in a BIOS update.

- It's who you game with.

Comment

I have been there in regards to my X-FI fatality when I built a new PC a while back. I had the popping and crackling. Sound going out, the sudden high pitched whine wearing headphones that probably caused me some hearing damage.:( Especially in BF2. I also would have the system often freeze on the high pitched whine.

There's been alot of discussion about this issue at Creative's Discussion forum and when I researched possible causes and solutions I found quite a few for both. They seemed all over the place and seemed to depend alot on the hardware people had.

Here's a few that suggestions that might be helpful.

Creatives Stance on Issue: Here

Someone with similar setup as yours?

My Setup is:
      AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4800+ Processor
      ASUS A8N-SLI PREMIUM NF4 SLI Motherboard
      3GB Corsair 3200PRO - DDR Memory
      Windows XP Pro OS
      Enermax 600W Power Supply