No announcement yet.

Graphic problems sprang up....

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Graphic problems sprang up....

Howdy fellow TG'ers.

I've got a somewhat elusive computer problem that is driving me purely nuts.

I have narrowed it down to either hardware or software problem in relation to my graphics adapter.

Current System Specs:

XP SP2
    ASUS p4p800 deluxe
    Pentium4 3.0ht
    2gb kensington ram
    60gb seagate EIDE
    onboard lan and audio
    XFX geforce 6800 128mb 256bit
    running the current 93.71 forceware from nvidia.

Now, I have been playing BF2142 daily for almost two months now, and I haven't had a single problem up until recently. I haven't changed anything with my system settings or graphic settings at all. I am pretty content running BF2142 on low specs with faster framerates.

I downloaded the NS booster and played in it for several days. Then this weekend, periodically I would notice screen fragments while I played. Then they seemed to get worse. Almost as if my AGP card was having problems rendering the visuals correctly. It has now become a every-game thing. I try any map, single-player, server etc... And I get this visual poo.

I start to troubleshoot. Windows update has me updated. Spyware and Ad-ware is empty from results (i run a tight ship on my gaming rig. Just to make music and play games. All my web surfing is done via my macs)

I check Direct X and I am running the latest version of 9. Nothing has been changed by me recently.

Then I start to freak out and uninstall BF2142 and reinstall it. Nope, graphical poo still there.

I then load HL2. And walla, it isn't game specific. It seems to be progressing even worse. And more noticeable with each load.

The only thing, is In native windows, Its like there is nothing wrong. Only when I load a 3d type game.

I defrag and run disk check, nothing, same problems.