Byte Level Replication under Linux

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Byte Level Replication under Linux

Does anyone here have any experience with any Linux based byte level replication packages? I'm looking for something that is preferably free and open source. I need to take a VM server running on a FC6 host and do real-time byte replication of the .VMDK files over to a secondary FC6 VM host.

I looked at a few commercial packages but would also like to explore open source alternatives. I'm about to start playing with Pratima but wasn't sure if any of you other Linux IT professionals have used other solutions.
    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

Re: Byte Level Replication under Linux

You might can use "dd" under the command line. The command would be something like "dd if=/foo of=foogoeshere". Take a look at the man files to see if it will work for you.

I am by no means an IT pro and definitely not a linux expert but I have used dd in my job to replicate images before and it worked quite well.
    Retired 6th DB

Comment

I would strongly recommend `dd`, unless it's known not to work with this sort of file (i.e., backing up DRM-protected game discs). You can use `dd` in combination with `netcat`, or its secure brother, `snetcat` (or encrypt it yourself).

I'm not an IT professional, so I'm not sure if this is useful advice. I don't know what a VMDK file is.
      The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt. ~
      I have a tendency to key out three or four things and then let them battle for supremacy while I key, so there's a lot of backspacing as potential statements are slaughtered and eaten by the victors. ~
      Feel free to quote me. ~

Comment