Your best rig for under 1000$

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your best rig for under 1000$

Ill be building a rig for my bro-in-law in the coming month or two and while I have casualy selected a build from newegg, Im no expert.

So, I challenge you (Great denizens of TG!) to build a complete rig from newegg with these criteria in mind.

800-1000$ (if there is money left after the tower he could buy a flatpanel monitor)

He already owns a nice mouse/ keyboard and has a 20"crt monitor.

He is a gamer and AutoCAD user.

No preference in the AMD/Intel or Nvidia/ATI categories.

No or few LEDs on/in the case...it will be in his bedroom (Quiet would be nice also im shure.)

More info can be provided if needed.

Re: Your best rig for under 1000$

I started to build one and then got sick when I saw how much prices had dropped and gave up. :P

Comment

i look forward to reading this every month, and I can't find a better system guide than this - http://arstechnica.com/guides/buyer/guide-200703.ars

Three different flavors - Budget Box, Hot Rod, God Box.

Comment

cool link, thanks!

Comment

Originally posted by freekyE View Post
          No or few LEDs on/in the case...it will be in his bedroom (Quiet would be nice also im shure.)
          I'll keep my comments specific to the case. I was running an X-Dreamer II with 5 case fans and it was quite loud. I was looking for something simple, professional and fairly cheap.

I found this...

http://www.microcenter.com/byos/byos...duct_id=253819

$50 after rebate. I picked one up at the local Micro Center yesterday and am VERY impressed.

I'm running the included 120mm exhaust fan and I picked up 1 92mm intake fan for the front. Only LED is a classy blue one for HDD activity. Compared to the X-Dreamer II it's about 1/4 as loud (the case has padding on the sides and top) and it dropped my case temp by 15 degrees and my CPU temp by 20 degrees.

Comment

Originally posted by DigitalAssassin View Post