Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building a New 'puter

So here's the deal:

I'm living in a different city for the summer and, since I didn't bring my old computer with me, I've decided that's the perfect excuse to bind a new one! However I have a problem: I have never built one myself before. Now, I do have some knowledge; I know what parts are what and I have switched out parts in my old PC before. I've been trying to look for information on building your own computer and haven't had much luck. So I need help. I am intending to build a high end computer. I will be using it to play current and future games. My school work also requires a fairly demanding set-up. Anything from books/websites to read on how to build, to parts advice is welcome. You have my many thanks.

Re: Building a New 'puter

Nowadays it's pretty simple to build your own. Practically plug and play if you have a good knowledge of computers. Get a good power supply, video card, ram, and get a case that has enough room for good fans.

Newegg.com is the best place for a lot of the parts, as well as a place that sells OEM operating systems, which is key. The processer and motherboard combos on that site are ok too. If you get a motherboard that has dual channel ram capability make sure to get the same brand and size of ram for each slot (somthing you should do regardless)

Also, I like to use a boot drive for windows (like a 15 gb hard drive, that just stores the OS).