Question for Python Coders

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question for Python Coders

I am new to Python and know that there is an easier way but I can't seem to figure out what it is. I want to strip some characters from a string and this is the way I did it:

Code:
    filenametmp = 'pageadmin' + str(datetime.datetime.utcnow())
    filenametmp2 = filenametmp.replace('-','')
    filenametmp3 = filenametmp2.replace(':','')
    filenametmp4 = filenametmp3.replace('.','')
    filename = filenametmp4.replace(' ','')
    filename = filename + '.txt'
    I tried:
    Code:
    filenametmp = 'pageadmin' + str(datetime.datetime.utcnow())
    filename = filenametmp.strip(':-.')
    But I don't think that is the right BIF because it only affects leading and trailing; at least based on the documentation. What am I missing? If there are other suggestions related to getting the timestamp without all the dashes, semi-colons, and periods, I am open to those as well.

[volun]

Re: Question for Python Coders

Ya, strip won't do it. You could use a list comprehension like this:
    Code:
    timestmp = str(datetime.datetime.utcnow()
    badchars = '-:. '
    filename = 'pageadmin'.join([ch for ch in timestmp if not in badchars])
    Peace through fear... since 1947!

Comment

Does Python have any regex processing? In Perl, one would do something like "s/[:-.]//g". (I may have it not quite right. I know what goes in the slashes, but I always have to look up the syntax for how to embed a regex in a particular case, like a search-and-replace.)
      Dude, seriously, WHAT handkerchief?

snooggums' density principal: "The more dense a population, the more dense a population."

Iliana: "You're a great friend but if we're ever chased by zombies I'm tripping you."

Comment

I'd use the string module and a loop.

Code:
        import string
        filename = 'pageadmin' + str(datetime.datetime.utcnow())
        for eachchar in string.punctuation + string.whitespace: