HDTV, what should I be looking for?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HDTV, what should I be looking for?

My wife isn't aware of this yet, but we are planning on purchasing an HDTV in the coming weeks. We've talked about getting one before, and she was all for it, but I don't think she understands the time frame! I think this is going to be more of an "ask for forgiveness" situation then an "ask for permission". ;)

Anyways, I have ZERO experience with understanding any of the TV mumbo jumbo they have right now for all these flat screen, plasma, lcd, hdtv, flux capacitor operated time machines. So I ask you guys to help prepare me to make the best choice I can!

Some requirements I have right now: 42 inches (no bigger) if I can fit that size into my media center closet. It has to look good with my xbox360 attached and digital cable. I do plan on either upgrading to an elite or the HD DVD drive (haven't decided yet). I would love to find something around the 1000 dollar mark or lower, but am willing to look at pricier models if they are worth it (I don't plan on another TV purchase for 5+ years). I currently have a 36inch CRT that is just getting old and things don't look great on (especially the newer 360 games).

Any help is appreciated guys.
    USAR

Re: HDTV, what should I be looking for?

and so the wedded bliss ends... :P

check out this article on tomshardware. its a good quick reference to get what you need to know.
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2004/08/...ics_explained/

for 1000$ you can get quite a TV. You may save lots by buying online, but it is somewhat riskier if you find you dont like what you got due to shipping costs.

“Up, sluggard, and waste not life; in the grave will be sleeping enough!” Benjamin Franklin

Comment

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/forum....php?forumid=6

Here is a link that should answer all your questions. I have a Sony 50" and I love it. There is nothing like sports on a widescreen HDTV.
      The Old Guy