Building new rig, need advice and help reducing price

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building new rig, need advice and help reducing price

I'm planning on building a new computer in the next few months but I need some help. I've never built a computer from scratch before (although I have swapped components in and out) so I'm not sure if I even have a compatible setup.

Second thing I need help with is reducing the price. As I said I plan on buying the computer in a couple of months so hopefully the price will have dropped somewhat by then. My target price is between £400 - £500 (788.24 US$ - 985.3 US$) but as close to £400 as possible.

What I'm looking for is a rig that I can upgrade easily. I'd like to be able to play BF2, Oblivion etc on high settings and any new games (Armed Assault) on mid to high settings.

My current setup is below. With this I can run Oblivion and BF2 on LOW settings but can't run Company of Heroes or Armed Assault.

AMD Athlon XP 2500+ 1.82Ghz
    ASUS A7V8X-X
    Radeon 9800Pro
    512MB RAM
    500W Ebuyer PSU

I went on ebuyer earlier and put this together. Again, I've never done this before so there may even be compatibility issue with this setup.

Case: Casecom Black/Silver Midi Tower Case With Front Panel LCD £11.90
    PSU: Xpro 500W Quiet PSU - 12cm Fan, 20+4pin Power Connector, PCI-E Connector, PFC £32.74
    Mobo: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA PT880 Ultra Socket 775 SATA 8 channel audio ATX £32.31
    Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.4ghz) Socket 775 FSB1066 4MB Cache Retail Boxed Processor £118.18
    Graphics Card: MSI 8600GTS 256MB DVI HDTV PCI-E £110.63
    Hard Drive: Western Digital WD2500KS 250GB 7200RPM SATAII/300 16MB Cache Hard Drive - OEM £35.73
    CD-Drive:Samsung SH-S183 SATA 18x DVD±RW/RAM Black - Bare Drive OEM £17.43
    Memory: Crucial 2GB kit (1GBx2) DDR2 PC2-4200 CL=4 UNBUFFERED NON-ECC DDR2-533 1.8V £37.16
    Monitor: Samsung SM920NW 19" Widescreen TFT 700:1 1440x900 300cd/m2 5ms £99.99