Its that time again... crap

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Its that time again... crap

well here is my situation , last fall i bought a pentium d 3.2ghz and an associated motherboard, a 7600GT. 2 weeks ago i bought another 2 gigs of ram bringing my total two 3 gigs. I am now noticing how much of a mistake it was buying the Pentium d, and i know you all know why... its too damn hot and doesn't really act like a dual core.

I am now looking at doing a couple of things:

1. buying a 2.4 Core 2 duo 775 socket
    2. buying a new mobo that is SLI ready
    3. buying a second 7600 GT by XFX because i bought the first one by them and am very impressed.

now my problem is that i have been looking on tigerdirect for a new mobo and there are boards that meet my requirements in terms of what i have for memory (3 1 gig 553hz) and my hard drives. i have a 430 watt PS and being a power engineer i believe i am set. a buddy of mine is getting a 8800GTS and he will need a larger PS... not me haha.

so what i am asking is for input on a board that meets my requirements. i will not be getting vista and am not worried about DX10, that is further down the road. i am just looking at getting my core system to a point where i will be set in that field. I am willing to pay no more then 300 for a new MOBO, although i don't think i'll even reach that price from what i've seen. if anyone could help out, i would greatly appreciate it. thanks guys.
    FORMER 22ND RRR/FORMER 1ST JTOC/ ALWAYS A TACTICALGAMER

Spartan 4

Re: Its that time again... crap

3. buying a second 7600 GT

two graphics cards eats more juice, will 430Watt do it? I dont know

Comment

Is that RAM DDR1 or DDR2? While you are trying to save money, a Core 2 Duo will benefit much more from DDR2.

I have similar doubts on a 430W PSU handling two 7600GT's. It'll be close to your PSU max and pulling it off will depend on the number of other components in your system.

- It's who you game with.

Comment