Advice on upgrades

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice on upgrades

Hey guys, currently got an Athlon 64X2 2.42Ghz with 2GB and just bought a Nvidia 8800 GTSOC2 320 MB card. Do I need to start looking at a GPU upgrade as well now to prevent bottlenecking. Sorry if it's a dumb question but I'm relatively new to all this so any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Re: Advice on upgrades

I'm not sure if I'm reading something wrong, but if you just bought a GeForce 8800GTS (which is one of the best cards at the moment) and 2 gig of RAM + an AMD X2 2.42Ghz there is no need at all to upgrade. The system you have now will perform great on every game on the market right now.
    So actually I don't see the problem, neither do I see any bottlenecking?

Comment

Ditto with Concrete.

That's a pretty good system right there. Unless you regret buying the 8800GTS 320MB and want a new GPU. The only reason I would think the 8800GTS 320MB isn't good is if you're playing at resolutions of 1920x1200. You'd want a card with more memory like the GTS 640MB.

- It's who you game with.

Comment

Thanks guys that's reassuring, I currently have an nvidia 7800 gt installed and I get quite a few frame rate problems. Hopefully this should resolve them. Thanks again.

Comment

FPS problems on a 7800GT? That's new. My brother's system has one (bought it for him a year ago) and I haven't heard him complain about any framerate problmes.
          |TG-18th| Acreo Aeneas
          TG World of Tanks Clan Executive Officer
          Former 9th & 13th

Pronounciation: Eh-Cree-Oh Ah-Nay-Ess
          Still can't say it? Call me Acorn then. -.-

SSDs I Own: Kingston HyperX 3K (240 GB), Samsung 840 Pro (256 GB), Samsung 840 EVO (250 GB), Samsung 840 x 2 (120 GB), Plextor M5S (120 GB), OCZ Vertex (30 GB)

TG Primer and Rules

Comment

Originally posted by Acreo Aeneas View Post