AMD Opteron Dual Core vs Athlon 64 X2 vs Core 2 Duo

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD Opteron Dual Core vs Athlon 64 X2 vs Core 2 Duo

I am in the process of purchasing a new chip and motherboard and I need to know what I should get. I have a budget of $300 to $400, but I am a teacher so less is best. I will be gaming, obviously, and most of that gaming will be done on POE2.
    I have been hearing forever that core2duo beats the AMD's hands down, but I have done a little research and it looks like they are pretty close in terms of real world gaming tests. Plus the cost of the AMD X2's seem to be a lot lower. E.G. AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ 3.0GHz = $170 vs. Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 Conroe 2.33GHz = $185. Yes, the Intel has 4mb cache vs 2mb for the AMD, but the processor is alot slower.
    If anyone has real world experience with either or just has an opinion, I would appreciate it very much.

Re: AMD Opteron Dual Core vs Athlon 64 X2 vs Core 2 Duo

I have an Opteron 185 (dual-core 2.6GHz). My bottleneck is my videocard. A BF2 game like PoE2 will never use half of the CPU's processing power.

3) Support game play in a near-simulation environment. Where the focus of play would not be solely on doing what it takes to win, but doing so utilizing real-world combat strategy and tactics rather than leveraging exploits provided to players by the design of the game engine.

Comment

You can't compare processor speeds anymore. They're all different because they'll each do a certain amount of work per clock cycle. The E6550 may be slower but it'll do much more work per clock cycle. That's why it's priced close to the X2 6000+.

I have a E6400 @ 3.0Ghz and it's great. The Core 2 chips are very OC friendly and give much better overclocked performance compared to an overclocked X2. However, the X2 chips are really cheap and you can probably find a cheaper motherboard that has similar features for an Intel chip.