Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

"End of Days" for using encryption with BitTorrent to avoid throttling?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• "End of Days" for using encryption with BitTorrent to avoid throttling?

As many of you may or may not know, I'm in the network/systems security industry as a profession. I've been doing this for many many years and part of my yearly educational routine is attending the Black Hat and DEFCON conventions in Las Vegas.

Well. I've been down here for the past few days for Black Hat and one of the sessions I attended was "Protocol Identification through Statistical Analysis". It was a rather interesting session that focused not on analyzing packets and the data they contain to determine what type of traffic was being passed on a network rather analyzing specific patterns within the packet flow itself and packet timing to determine what type of traffic was being passed.

With the recent discussion in our forums about using various BitTorrent clients due to their support of encrypted data streams that can avoid detection and the ultimate throttling of that traffic by your ISP, I found this session quite interesting.

TippingPoint has developed tools that can analyze traffic and through the use of some euclidean geometry "magic" determine what type of traffic is being passed even if the traffic is encrypted and contains no conventional signature.

I played a bit with one of the tools that was released and I can see this type of protocol detection being integrated into existing bandwidth management/shaping tools relatively soon. The tools are VERY effective and highly accurate.

The URL provided during the session isn't working, so I'll post some of the tools up later on when I'm back in my hotel room and have the Black Hat CD on me.
    Diplomacy is the art of saying "good doggie" while looking for a bigger stick.

Re: "End of Days" for using encryption with BitTorrent to avoid throttling?